Below are the names of the newly elected NTA Central Council, which will take office as of July 1, 2019, for the upcoming school year (note that territorial positions are in place until June 30, 2021).


Thank you to all those who put their names forward for positions, and to those who coordinated elections and votes.


NTA President: John Fanjoy, Iqaluit

NTA Vice President: Joey Rhodes, Iqaluit

NTA Secretary Treasurer: Scott MacDonald, Iqaluit

NTA Inuit Member at Large: Becky Tootoo, Baker Lake


North Qikiqtani President: Lauren Towne, Igloolik

Central Qikiqtani President: Jennie Dawson, Iqaluit

South Qikiqtani President: Alyssa Paul, Clyde River

Kivalliq President: Katelyn Wyatt, Rankin Inlet

Kitikmeot President: Teri Lynn Hall, Kugaaruk


North Qikiqtani Vice President: John MacKenzie, Igloolik

Central Qikiqtani Vice President: Shauna Beaton, Iqaluit

South Qikiqtani Vice President: Christy Douwsma, Qikiqtarjuaq

Kivalliq Vice President: Travis Klak, Coral Harbour

Kitikmeot Vice President: Susie Hillier, Gjoa Haven


North Qikiqtani Secretary Treasurer: Stephen Frampton, Igloolik

Central Qikiqtani Secretary Treasurer: Ryan Girvin, Iqaluit

South Qikiqtani Secretary Treasurer: Robert Galka, Sanikiluaq

Kivalliq Secretary Treasurer: Alyssa Whitney, Coral Harbour

Kitikmeot Secretary Treasurer: Kim Rowley, Gjoa Haven


Kivalliq Member at Large: Kylie Curry, Arviat

Kivalliq Member at Large: Jonah McCavour, Coral Harbour