On April 1, 1999, the Northwest Territories separated into the two territories of Nunavut (East) and the Northwest Territories (West). In anticipation of this Historic decision a special ballot was held in March of 1997 by the membership of the Northwest Territories Teachers’ Association to decide on the future of the Association. In April 1997, the vote was complete and the decision was made to divide the Association into two organizations – Northwest Territories Teachers Association (West) and the Federation of Nunavut Teachers (East).

A resolution was passed that the Central Executive for the Federation of Nunavut Teachers would consist of a President, a Vice President and a Secretary/Treasurer that would be elected for a two-year term in a Territorial wide vote of all members. Completing the make up of Central Executive would be the four regional presidents elected annually in regional elections.

The Federation of Nunavut Teachers was officially formed on April 1st, 1999. The first Interim Executive of the Federation of Nunavut Teachers, Donna Stephania, Geraldine Balzer, Cassie Hallett, Lena Metuq and Brian Yamamura, took office in order to ensure the groundwork was completed and preparation was made for the founding meeting.

The founding meeting of the FNT took place on May 15th and 16th, 1999 at the library in Inuksuk High School, Iqaluit, Nunavut.

Central Council in attendance were Donna Stephania, Geraldine Balzer, Cassie Hallett, Anita Murphy, Dianne McDonald, Brian Yamamura, Robin Langill, David Ford, Andrew MacLellan, Jimmy Jacquard, Juan Gill, Michele Buchan, Charlotte Borg and Rodney Corkum. Observers were Dominique Wielgosch and Gayle Reddick.

The first elected Central Executive, consisting of President – Donna Stephania, Vice-President – Geraldine Balzer, Secretary-Treasurer – Rodney Corkum and Regional Presidents Cassie Hallett – Kivalliq, Dianne McDonald – South Baffin, Brian Yamamura – Kitikmeot, Jimmy Jacquard – North Baffin, took office on May17th, 1999.

Blake Lyons became the first Executive Director of the FNT on July 1st, 1999 with Linda Golding as the first Administrative Assistant. Both Mr. Lyons and Ms. Golding were hired on a part-time basis as support staff for the president.

Colleen Eckert became the first Professional Development Co-ordinator on July1st,2000. The FNT contracted out Shirley Bibby, NWTTA PI Coordinator, to be the NPIC Fund Manager.

Lewis Budgell was elected as President and became the second President of the FNT on July 1st, 2001, and was re-elected for a second term that began July 1st, 2003.

On July 1st, 2002, Carolyn Taverner became the full time Executive Assistant and P.I. Fund Manager.

On December 12th, 2003, Carolyn Taverner submitted her resignation. On January 2nd, 2004, Debbie Robinson-Duffy was hired as the FNT Executive Assistant and P.I. Fund Manager.

On February 2nd, 2004, Dominique Wielgosch was hired on a term contract to be the Nunavut Teachers Conference 2005 Co-ordinator.

On March 30th, 2005, Jimmy Jacquard was elected as President of the FNT and became the third President of the Federation on July 1st 2005.

On July 1st, 2005, David Lloyd became the second Professional Improvement Coordinator.

On July 1st, 2005, Blake Lyons was contracted to be the Executive Director for the Kivalliq and the Kitikmeot regions. Lou Budgell was contracted to be the Executive Director of the Qikiqtani regions.

Central Executive met in Cambridge Bay in January 2006 and conducted a conference call with the members of Central Council. Central Council voted to change By-Law 4; Central Council and By-Law 13; Regional Boundaries. By- Law (4)(1)(b) was changed to give regional representation at AMCC one councilor per 40 active members and By-Law 13(1)(a) was changed to increase the number of regions from four to five and a new region to be known as Central Qikiqtani consisting of Iqaluit and Apex was formed.

In June of 2006, the name of the Federation of Nunavut Teachers (FNT) was changed to the Nunavut Teachers’ Association (NTA).

On January 2nd, 2007, Emile Hatch was hired as the full-time NTA Executive Director.

Jimmy Jacquard was re-elected, in March 2007, to the position of NTA President for 2007-2009.

On August 27th, 2007, Patrick McDermott was hired as the Professional Development Officer.

At the 2008 AMCC, Central Council voted to incorporate a new position into Central Executive. The position of Inuit Member at Large was created, and a territory wide election was held for this position in the fall of 2008.

On August 28th, 2008, Shannon Hessian was hired as the Professional Improvement Coordinator.

Robin Langill was elected, in March 2009, to the position of NTA President for 2009 – 2011, and was acclaimed for a second term of office from 2011 – 2013.

In 2010, Helen Hoang was hired as the Coordinator of Teacher Mentorship and Induction.

In 2011, Heather Campbell was hired as Interim PI Coordinator, and Coordinator for the 2012 Nunavut Wide Teachers’ Conference. Brian Barry replaced Debbie Robinson Duffy as the NTA Executive Assistant/ NPIC Fund Administrator.

In 2012, because of increases in staffing levels, 5 new positions were added to Central Council. Each of the five regions gained a Member at Large position, bringing the total regional representation to 4 for each region, except the Kivalliq, which gained a second councilor, bringing their total to 6. At AMCC that year, the ratio of regional representatives to members was changed from 1 representative for every 40 members, to one representative for every 50 members.

In 2013, Terry Young was elected as NTA President for 2013 – 2015. Terry remained in the position of President until 2017, after an acclamation in 2015.

Also in 2013, the positions of NTA Member Services Administrator and a second Professional Improvement Coordinator were created. Heather Campbell was hired as the NTA Member Services Administrator, and Jeffrey Avery was hired as the Professional Development Coordinator.

In 2014, Cody Prusky was hired as a Conference Coordinator, and Craig Mac Gregor replaced Shannon Hessian as Professional Improvement Coordinator while Shannon was on leave. During the 2014 – 15 year, NTA published a new Strategic Plan, and developed a Mission Statement.

In 2016, Craig MacGregor was hired as a Conference Coordinator, and in early 2017, John Fanjoy was acclaimed as NTA President for the 2017 – 19 term. In 2019, John was acclaimed for second term as NTA President.

During the 2017 – 2018 academic year, Amy Hodgers was hired as NTA Member Services Administrator.